Dissertations and Theses


Rice, J. 2014. Modeling occurrence and assessing public perceptions of de facto wastewater reuse across the USA. PhD Dissertation defended April 14, 2014. Committee members: Paul Westerhoff (chair), Morteza Abbaszadegan, Enrique Vivoni, and Amber Wutich.

Withycombe Keeler, L. 2014. Quenching our thirst for future knowledge: Participatory scenario construction and sustainable water governance in a desert city. PhD Dissertation defended April 11, 2014. Committee members: Arnim Wiek (chair), Dave White, and Daniel Lang.


Moe, R. 2013. Comparative policy analysis: Water management in Mesa, Arizona and Hermosillo, Sonora. Undergraduate Honors Thesis, Geological Sciences, School of Earth and Space Exploration, defended April 5, 2013. Committee members: Netra Chhetri (chair), Dave White, and Agustin Robles-Morua.

Neel, R. 2013. “Expert in the language of fear”: Stigmatized targets’ perception of others’ emotion-specific prejudice. PhD Dissertation defended April 8, 2013. Committee members: Steven L. Neuberg (chair), Michelle N. Shiota, Douglas T. Kenrick, and D. Vaughn Becker.

Ouyang, Y. 2013. Relationship between single-family residential water use and its determinants: A spatio-temporal study of Phoenix, Arizona. PhD Dissertation defended September 20, 2013. Committee members: Elizabeth Wentz (co-chair), Ben Ruddell (co-chair), Sharon Harlan, and Marco Janssen.

Turner, V.K. 2013. Sustainable urbanism: An integrative analysis of master planned developments as a vehicle for urban environmental sustainability. PhD Dissertation defended July 3, 2013. Committee members: Pat Gober (chair), Hallie Eakin, Ann Kinzig, and Emily Talen.


Berlin, A. 2012. Pro-environmental motivation: An evolutionarily informed approach. PhD Dissertation defended April 2, 2012. Committee members: Steven. L. Neuberg (Chair), Douglas T. Kenrick, Susan E. Ledlow, and Michelle N. Shiota.

Hawkins, G.A. 2012. Assessing the effects of climate change in a semiarid basin utilizing a fully distributed hydrologic model: A case study of Beaver Creek, Arizona. Master’s thesis defended on July 20, 2012. Committee members Enrique R. Vivoni (chair), Steven Semken, and Larry W. Mays.


Frijia, S. 2011. Energy use and greenhouse gas emissions in residential neighborhoods in the Southwest: A built environment life-cycle assessment. Master’s thesis defended on July 5, 2011. Committee members Subhrajit Guhathakurta (co-chair), Eric Williams (co-chair) and David Pijawka.

Hu, Q. 2011. Fostering collaboration through IT tools: An experimental study of public deliberation on water sustainability. PhD Dissertation defended April 19, 2011. Committee members N. Joseph Cayer (co-chair), Zhiyong Lan (co-chair), Erik Johnston, Ralph Shangraw.

Killoren, D. 2011. American Indian water rights in Arizona: From conflict to settlement, 1950-2004. PhD Dissertation defended April 20, 2011. Committee members Dirk Hoerder (chair), Paul Hirt, and Karen Smith.

Kim, W.K. 2011. Understanding open spaces in arid cities. PhD Dissertation defended October 17, 2011. Committee members Elizabeth Wentz (co-chair), Soe Myint (co-chair), Anthony Brazel, and Subhrajit Guhathakurta.

Quay, R. 2011. Advanced scenario analysis: Tools for enhancing social resiliency – evaluating advanced scenario analysis in regional growth visioning. PhD Dissertation defended November 16, 2011. Committee members David Pijawka (chair), Ralph (Rick) Shangraw, and Jim Holway.


Cutts, B.B., 2010. Multiple information providers and public knowledge of water resources. PhD Dissertation defended April 19, 2010. Committee members Ann Kinzig (chair), Christopher Boone, Dave White, Kelli Larson, and David Schaefer.

Knox, A. 2010. Peer influence on student water-use practices. Undergraduate Honors Thesis, Biology and Society, School of Life Sciences. Committee members Ann Kinzig, Peggy Nelson, Stuart Fisher.